Has anyone got the NEW 2013 Canyon Ultimate CF SLX yet?

Comments

• giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    you have more patience than I, jezz i'll give you that
  • My bike arrived yesterday, Team Edition, so worth the wait. Really pleased with it. Hang in there people you wont be disappointed.
  • DrWally
    DrWally Posts: 54
    I've noticed that due to the setup of the drive train (di) on the frame, you can not put a double crank on a compact frame, can anyone confirm?

oh what an idiot I have been....
  • Low-fi
    Low-fi Posts: 98
    Surely not? That would make no sense. What makes you suspect that?
  • DrWally
    first: I'm a noob when it comes to bike mechanics... still learning :) so don't shoot me if I say something retarded

but it seems that de location where the front derailleur is mounted to the frame, is fixed? If you install a double (larger ring), shouldn't this location shift up a little?
  • DrWally
    it would also me consistent with the fact that their bike model sell out on either compact or double...?
  • Low-fi
    You'll be fine: it's on a hex but that you can undo and move up and down.
  • DrWally
    :D I just found out indeed.

thanks! panicked and fell down to the floor in tears for a minute. Quite a relieve.
  • Low-fi
    Great! Saves me trying to upload a photo for you :D
  • DrWally
    well, keep you camera at hand, I would say. I haven't even touched a wrench to effectively try and switch the crank. The potential for things to go hazardously wrong is huge. HUGE.

I do have torque wrenches tho, two, I'm a f*cking pro B)
  • Low-fi
    I'm all for home spannering, but I'd be on the phone to the bike shop booking it in at this point!
  • DrWally
    well. me too. But I want to learn. Especially now that I'll be riding an internet brand, I just don't want to go through the whole "they are putting us out of business"-preach every time :) , which I understand. But I made the choice.