How old are the newbies to road cycling?

Comments

• Ok,i`m 4(cough-cough)9.

I have just bought a Cannondale Caad 8 105,it arrived this week and i have just done my first test on it.Superb bike it has to be said and the gear shifting a real joy,though as i have never used this type of shifting before it took a bit of getting used to.
    I rode around the block where i live then around my local boating marina,about 4 miles all told.Not far i agree but my legs feel it.But i know the more i get on it the easier it will become.
    Bought myself a Boardman helmet too which is also something i have never worn before but if it saves my scalp from being busted then all the better.
    Cannondale CAAD 8 105
    Rockrider 8.1
  • Just been inspired to contribute by the posts on here! But liked Kinky Afro's post especially.

I'm 39 and until recently had a Giant xTc MTB that lived in my shed 360 days of the year, until the car broke down and I rode it to the station a few times for work. On a lovely day in July this year, I decided to be brave and was dropped off in Exeter 16miles from home. It didn't take long (6miles) to realise that I was hopelessly unfit and that a MTB on roads was ridiculous. I hatched a plan that to get fitter and save some pennies, I could sell the MTB and invest in somethig for the road and attack my commute.

The total commute, door 2 door, is 35 miles, so currently that is a bit of non starter, but I drive a few miles and then ride to the station and get a train. So 10 miles each way atm and I'm enjoying it!

I'm fitter than I've ever been, but could do with losing another stone. Ran a half mararthon in 2011.

My bike was bought on the strength of the review on Bike Radar and for a budget bike, it feels and rides fantastic. The gears are hard work though and hills present a proper challenge. It's a Claud Butler Criterium.
  • DL1987
    DL1987 Posts: 204
    Bought my first road bike a couple of months ago aged 25.