Brizzle Social Club

Comments

• AdamJ85
    AdamJ85 Posts: 14
    Thanks for the replies.

I've never been on the path at rush hour, so it will be interesting to see how busy it is. I'll definitely be careful, especially as I'm new to cycling so still a bit shakey even without other cyclists to deal with! :)

The crime/trouble on the path is one of the things that most put me off and made me think twice about whether to do this. However, I'm hoping that the threat of this will be minimised by the fact that I'll be travelling around 7.30-9.00 and 17.00-18.30 so daylight and when the path is busy..
  • mudcovered
    mudcovered Posts: 725
    AdamJ85 wrote:
    I'll be travelling around 7.30-9.00 and 17.00-18.30 so daylight and when the path is busy..
    Trouble isn't common and I've not had a problem on the 2 or 3 times I've used it in the dark. My biggest problem is getting lost trying to find my way to the start of the path at the Bristol end. :) I'd imagine problems in that busy time period is seriously unlikely.

Avoiding collisions/issues with other users when it is busy is just a matter of paying attention. You do get the occasional kamikaze rider coming the other way with their head down and headphones on to avoid but that happens on any off road cycle path.

Basically give it a go and your confidence levels will soon improve.

Mike
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Forty minutes was my best time from The Dolphin to Russel Town Ave before they put the Mangotsfield detour in. When pushing it these days 50mins on my SS Tricross. With the lights on the Bristol section of the cyclepath thee kids seemed to have gone but still would say there will be some scroat at some point on one of your journeys.

Waddlie Bitton sounds good but are there any pubs near the CP?
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • mudcovered
    redvee wrote:
    That was my thought. Might take a look at the weekend if the weather is reasonable.

Mike