Seemingly trivial things that annoy you

Comments

• webboo
    webboo Posts: 6,087

I call people for a living.

"Yes Rick, I'd love to chat, when works"

"I have availability between x, y and z, do let me know the best number for me to call you on"

"Thanks Rick, let's speak at x"

"Thanks, Looking forward to it, Let me know the best number for me to call you on"

"Thanks, looking forward to it."

Every. Time.

I can't call you if you don't give me your number.

Is that not the classic brush off. They don’t give you their number because they don’t want to talk.
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    webboo said:

"I have availability between x, y and z, do let me know the best number for me to call you on"

"Thanks, Looking forward to it, Let me know the best number for me to call you on"

Every. Time.

Is that not the classic brush off. They don’t give you their number because they don’t want to talk.
    lol why go through the charade of arranging a time?
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 26,974
    webboo said:

Every. Time.

There is that. 🤣
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • rick_chasey
    pblakeney said:

pblakeney said:

Every. Time.

They're expecting a Teams invite.
    lol then they'd need to give me their email :)
    How are they in communication if not phone, email or Teams?
    So the modern post-covid world, people get very upset if you email them out of the blue, and they expect you to use LinkedIn unless you know them well (and then you'd have their number anyway).

The old school method of calling them on the desk or emailing their work account, which before was the most effective way, now really upsets people.

They do? Quite frankly LinkedIn would be my last means of communication.
    Why would they get upset when they've asked you to contact them?