sky team .why do they polarize opinion so much .

Comments

• Kléber
    Kléber Posts: 6,842
    iainf72 wrote:
    I'm more interested in who has a Ferrari Coach than a Volvo Bus
    Well put! :lol:
  • BikingBernie
    BikingBernie Posts: 2,163
    Pross wrote:
    ... the attitude of PauloBets and a few others like him is enough to put me off! I have no problem with people getting nationalistic or being fans of a particular team but they also have to respect that others may not share their view without accusing them of being stupid or in some way treacherous.
    As a former psychology lecturer, I find it interesting that the on-line ‘personalities’ of people like PaulBets so closely resemble the archetype of the ‘right-wing authoritarian’, as developed by people like Theodore Adorno. It's all there: the worship of the powerful and successful (particularly Armstrong in Paulo's case); the strong streak of irrationality, even to the degree of denying the laws of mathematics; the rabid hostility to those perceived to be 'disloyal' to the dominant in-group and so on.

The bottom line is that many 'debates' on here are more about a conflict of 'world views', personal values and political mind-sets than the 'facts'. I have seen exactly the same phenomena in many other areas of debate, especially in relation to those opposed to more effective levels of speed control and holding drivers to be responsible for their own actions. (I also notice that many people are waking up to the fact that the climate change 'deniers' are driven more by their desire to protect their right-wing 'free market' and 'libertarian' ideologies, rather than any real desire to debate the available evidence).

I for one can't help but think that the human race hasn't evolved one bit since everyone was running around paying homage to the tribal chief, killing anyone who was an ‘outsider’ to the group and praying to the Sky fairies, sorry, sky fairies! :wink:
  • PauloBets
    PauloBets Posts: 108