Fixed/Single Speed Commuting

Comments

• Getting all excited this morning... I'm test riding the 56cm Tricross a little later, what an awful start to my day off (still getting my head round having a day off that changes by a day forward each week, along with Sunday)! :D

I believe the Tricross comes with a freewheel 18T. Would fitting a fixed 18T on the other side of the hub help me get used to tackling ~5% gradients?

As in, would the crank momentum help ascending? Seems a silly question to ask, but I've never done "fixed" before!

On a side note, I spotted a medium Mongoose Sabrosa 3x9 2008 for the amazing price of £299 at Evans the other night! :shock: :shock:
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/mon ... e-ec000887

With their eccentric bottom bracket, they could be easily converted to SS. but they have a lovely "floaty" feel as it comes (I test rode one back in March from Cycleworld LBS, missed out on the last large, the medium had my sitbones paerched right on the back of the saddle... but I wonder if that was partly down to my unfamiliarity to heavily bent arms in the upright position of hybrids/MTBs.

For a while, I contemplated getting this Sabrosa instead of the Tricross, but decided I would like to support a LBS this time and also get fitted; test ride; free service etc. Never the less, the Sabrosa is hell of a deal for anyone in the 5'7" to 5'11" ballpark.
    ================
    2020 Voodoo Marasa
    2017 Cube Attain GTC Pro Disc 2016
    2016 Voodoo Wazoo
  • wgwarburton
    wgwarburton Posts: 1,863
    ... I believe the Tricross comes with a freewheel 18T. Would fitting a fixed 18T on the other side of the hub help me get used to tackling ~5% gradients?

As in, would the crank momentum help ascending? Seems a silly question to ask, but I've never done "fixed" before!

Hmm... I think it's a psychological effect, more than a mechanical one, mind you that doesn't necessarily mean it doesn't exist...