Silly commuting racing

Comments

• attica
    attica Posts: 2,362
    Right, had a day out of the office, so there's a few things we need to catch up on:-

A few German facts:-
    Hugo Boss apparently produced the SS uniform, so it wasn't just composers.
    Krupp are also Thyssen Krupp, they make lifts
    So do Schindler (Schindler's lifts geddit)
    There used to be a five square mile Krupp factory in Essen, North Germany
    The RAF extensively re-modelled this factory such that today there are two buildings left, the hall where Big Bertha was cast, and the Ikea over the road.
    Mr Krupp was a huge anglophile and created a faux English manor house on the outskirts of Essen.
    In 2000 I found myself working in the self same hall where Big Bertha was cast, under the direct employ of one Lord Lloyd Webber (trunken arschloch) - there is now a theatre built free standing within the building and I was a sound engineer/stage manager.
    German crew, perhaps understandably, don't particularly like taking orders from an Englishman, but do jump about a foot in the air if you use the phrase "das ist verboten"

Sorry, all pointless and completely OT, but I felt the need to share. Bitte sehr.

Back on topic.

As I mentioned on Tuesday, I was going to be a sitting duck on the way home, my legs felt bl00dy awful. I managed a clean sheet, then about 5 miles from home I spotted in front of me, a shaven roadie - the only base FCN above mine. Now it's not often I get the opportunity to take a scalp, so I reached down into the depths and summond everything I had,
    "more power Scotty"
    "She cannae take it capn"
    "Come on Scotty give me everything you can"

You know the story, Scotty miraculously found enough power...

I reeled him in up a hill, legs screaming but I ignored them, breathing through every pore, I even managed a cheery "evening" as I passed him. I swear I looked like I wasn't trying at all.