Macroeconomics, the economy, inflation etc. *likely to be very dull*

Comments

• rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,648
    edited August 2022
    Really glad we've coming off virtually no real wage growth for 15 years to cushion the blow of the biggest drop in living standards since WW2.

What a glorious economy I graduated into in 2009, f*ck me.
  • Looks pretty ugly all round.

Inflation peaking at 13%, expects inflation to still be at 9% come Q3 2023

Would Rickonomics allow continued borrowing or is it time to panic?
    At this point I'm at a loss. Predicted deepest recession for 60 years.

It's a f*cking catastrophe.
    No, NO, NO!!!! you and your MMT got us into this mess so you can’t just give up. If there is no downside to borrowing money then why not double down and borrow £90bn a year to subsidise people’s gas bills?

This is exactly the sh1t I have been warning you about just a few decades earlier than expected
  • Really glad we've coming off virtually no real wage growth for 15 years to cushion the blow of the biggest drop in living standards since WW2.

Or take responsibility and look after you and yours.

If there is one thing everybody is going to learn is that the Govt is not some all powerful force that can make everything alright.
  • focuszing723
    focuszing723 Posts: 7,920

Really glad we've coming off virtually no real wage growth for 15 years to cushion the blow of the biggest drop in living standards since WW2.

If there is one thing everybody is going to learn is that the Govt is not some all powerful force that can make everything alright.
    Isn't that run faster than the next man policy, when being chased by a lion?
  • rick_chasey

Looks pretty ugly all round.

No, NO, NO!!!! you and your MMT got us into this mess so you can’t just give up. If there is no downside to borrowing money then why not double down and borrow £90bn a year to subsidise people’s gas bills?