2020 UCI Road World Championships, Imola - Sept 24th - 27th *Spoilers*

Comments

• dish_dash
    dish_dash Posts: 5,560

So for contrast, the fact that, say, someone like Campenaerts has used the opportunity of not being at the Tour to recce the route multiple times, whereas someone like WvA, who will obviously be coming out of the Tour with decent legs, hasn't been able to - is of more interest.

Dennis been recceing it too...
  • dish_dash
    dish_dash Posts: 5,560

the wheel kept skipping. i think she locked upfront then shifted to the back brake once the first skip threw her way off line. still cant tell

Looked like a speed wobble when she picked up some wind going round the corner to me, but I am no expert in this.
    There is no wind in Imola... it would be very rare.
    They said something about she was supposed to use a different bike, but then the UCI didn't allow. Maybe she never rode the bike before... hydro brakes can be tricky to master
    Sounds like there was some wind about yesterday. And more today (30kmph gusts), with full blown storms over the weekend.
  • Its another point of detail
  • bobmcstuff
    bobmcstuff Posts: 11,196

Yeah, it's inevitable, but sad.

I get anglo fans f*cking love kit - the endless Boardman droning on about it and the chorus of "oh how fascinating", oh my god - but it's certainly not what I like in my bike racing.

As shirley said - it's all about the detail. All of the detail - who's recce'd the course, who's using what kit, who's been in the wind tunnel, who's got the best position, who's been training most on their TT bike (OK that's mostly in GTs, since some GC contenders seem to train more or less on their TT bikes - you would think for the Worlds everyone would have spent a lot of time on the TT bike...), what the wind is like, whether it's going to change through the day etc etc etc. And who has good legs!
  • josame
    josame Posts: 1,141
    Is it true that they don't wear radios for UCI events?