Boris Johnson's Burkha Comments

1131415161719»

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 28,969
    TheBigBean wrote:
    rjsterry wrote:
    It's not a reproductive right, it is autonomy over the woman's own body.

Not a debate I like to get involved in, but the rad fem position on this always puzzles me. A woman has autonomy over her body, but not after 24 weeks of pregnancy, not for the purposes of prostitution and not for purpose of kidney selling.

You could argue that 24 weeks is the earliest point at which autonomy can begin.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • rjsterry
    edited August 2018
    nickice wrote:
    rjsterry wrote:
    I'm not a doctor, but I'm pretty sure being married is not effective at preventing unwanted pregnancies.

Being married will eliminate many (but not all) of the reasons for people getting abortions.

I think you need to live a little more before you make sweeping statements like that. Being married changes your legal status but everything else is just social expectation. The ceremony and the certificate in themselves don't make you behave differently.
    Pinnacle Monzonite

• shirley_basso
    shirley_basso Posts: 6,195
    rjsterry wrote:
    nickice wrote:
    rjsterry wrote:
    I'm not a doctor, but I'm pretty sure being married is not effective at preventing unwanted pregnancies.

Being married will eliminate many (but not all) of the reasons for people getting abortions.

I think you need to live a little more before you make sweeping statements like that. Being married changes your legal status but everything else is just social expectation.

I was also thinking this but if you think along nickice's thought process then it makes sense.

Only long term relationship couples are having sex
    Then getting married
    Then having kids