Tour de France Stage 11 *Spoiler*

Comments

• alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    Lichtblick wrote:
    Is Cavendish having a rubbish Tour?

(Don't hit me! I'm not a complete novice to the TdF............)

By his own high standards, yes. By anyone else's, no.

Not really...

He's said it himself that he doesn't expect much as he doesn't have a team to back him...

its not rubbish.. he's just not got a team to back him and is targeting the Olympics instead of green.

If he was loosing despite having full backing and a good lead-out then that would be rubbish!
  • step-hent
    step-hent Posts: 62
    Froome finished all of what 30 seconds behind Wiggins in TT and absolutely destroyed Wiggins and the field on the end of stage 7. I've seen nothing from Wiggins to suggest he's been better than Froome save for a TT which he was marginally better than Froome and TT in which he also started last. If you can't see that Froome has been better rider I don't know what else to tell you.

Did he destroy them? How many seconds did he take back in the end? We just haven't seen what would happen if Froome was let go - he seems to be riding within himself sticking with Wiggins, but he's got more of a kick than Wiggins on the climb so he can afford to up the pace like that and ride away - not clear if he'd hold it though. If he took off ahead, it's not clear whether Wiggins would bring him back slowly. But it is clear, based on the performances so far, that Wiggins would be ahead on the TT's.

I don't see how you can say that he's obviously the better rider - like I say, he's the better climber (or at least looks it) but we don't know by how much because he hasn't been given the free reign. And he's not the better TTist. I'm not saying it's not possible for Froome to win - we just haven't seen anything obvious either way. It would certainly be interesting to watch...
  • Will.C
    Will.C Posts: 245
    Lichtblick wrote:
    Is Cavendish having a rubbish Tour?