Chelmsford, Essex - it's a bit flat

Comments

• lawl
    lawl Posts: 132
    tobh, have they changed the area by the pub as well?
  • tobh
    tobh Posts: 103
    no. i dont think they have put anything up by the pub..

i rode thru there last thursday evening; it was clear then.
  • Galleywood Common - has had a fence put in to stop access *out* of the first 'bomb hole' if you are coming from the road.. However I am sure that some one (not me) will treat this as a challenge and jump over the fence... It's a pretty stupid place to put a fence for every reason.

Glad someone else has noticed this!

To be honest, stupid little twonks digging in stupid places have had this coming for a while, the unfortunate bit is that it spoils it for us all.

With the exception of a few overly keen rambler types, people have been largely accepting of the established jump + riding areas at Galleywood for a long time.

I've been riding the dirt jumps and singletrack there for 10 years at least and in the last year I've really noticed the amount of stupid little jumps that have been built all over the place, with no thought as to how it will affect drainage, ruin existing jumps and ruin existing paths used by walkers etc.

On the hill side besides Margaretting Hill near the nursery, there are several large jumps, a berm and a f***ing massive hole that has presumabley been used for the mud to create them. It looks really ugly, and there is tonnes of rubbish around it. I took a bag full home of it myself because as a rider I was embarrassed by it and didn't want to be associated with it. Why the f**k did they just dig a big hole in the middle for the mud instead of using their brains and keeping the whole thing discreet? Now it will be knocked down for sure by a walker.

It's only a tiny bit of land up there, but there used to be enough to keep me busy for a few hours. Now I can hardly be arsed to go up there.