Food & farming

Comments

• rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,394

I worked in the charity sector for years, so perhaps nothing like as cutthroat as finance or other sectors. Even so, it was apparent that anyone in positions of seniority spent most of their time with political maneuvering and status preservation, as highlighted above.

I quickly decided I had no interest in any of that. I know I am never going to earn huge money but I am comfortable and don't want for anything. I get to live the life I want with the people I love and we enjoy it. Isn't that the whole point, we get a brief window into this world, why waste it chasing something that can never ultimately be fulfilled? I understand people that chase money and status, it's just not for me.

I think people with a similar approach to mine do seem to live far less stressful, more fun and enjoyable lives, but that is just personal opinion (and apologies for my cod philosophical ramblings above!).

Lots of people enjoy the manouvering and get satisfaction out of progression.

Just because it’s not for you doesn’t mean it’s not for them either.
  • pblakeney
    pblakeney Posts: 26,874
    Last time I did any serious OT was to get a project complete on time. Working 16 hours a day for a week followed by a penultimate day which finished at 02:00 then a 06:30 start to finish that day.
    My wife asked me why I was working to that extreme. I had no answer that addressed my life. I stopped doing OT that day.
    The above may be fact, or fiction, I may be serious, I may be jesting.
    I am not sure. You have no chance.
    Veronese68 wrote:
    PB is the most sensible person on here.
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 28,969
    edited June 2023