Cycling & weight training

Thigh_burn
Thigh_burn Posts: 489
I'm interested to know if anyone on here combines their cycling with weight and conditioning training. I'm looking for a programme that might be effective for doing both.

I imagine that training with relatively heavy weights is not ideal for cyclists as you don't want to build up too much body mass - or not so that it impedes your power output. But, for the less serious cyclists out there, are any of you combining two wheels with lifting heavy things?

I've been doing kettlebells for a while now - quite happily swinging a 32kg and pressing a 24kg. I'm new to cycling and doing it for pleasure but would like some effective way to combine the training for both disciplines. Or are they perceived as mutually exclusive?

Comments

• sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,556
    weight training is widely used in pro teams, track etc., but i'm sure the program needs to be correct for the individual/objectives

fwiw...

i'm coming back from a bad injury, after a few months build up the physio has had me doing weights, i'm seeing a clear improvement in power since the weights began, both ftp and sprints, before starting the weights my performance had levelled out, now my weight is static, but power is going up, that works for me

the weights are heavy (for me at least), for instance sets of single-leg presses 95-100kg at the moment, still a long way to go to hit target, but i'm already c. 35kg up on what i could manage 3 months ago, aside from what the power meter says i can really feel the difference on the bike
    my bike - faster than god's and twice as shiny
  • Eebijeebi
    Eebijeebi Posts: 91
    I think you have to split it. Anything above the core (in my non-professional opinion) is unlikely to bring any benefit to a road cyclist. Core and below cant hurt (see above bracket) and may help.