Future proofing? Best to go discs?

Comments

• meanredspider
    meanredspider Posts: 12,337
    Whats TA?

Thru Axles (just noticed that you changed TA to DA in your quote :wink: )
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Haha yes, oops, thought it was a typo.

Seems to go hand in hand to me but I have no experience of them on a road bike and can only assume my CX bike would benefit from them.

If I get another CX bike it will have thru axles.
    Would currently prefer on a road bike too, but thats too far off to worry about for me as even winter road (that will be disc's) replacement is at least 2 years away.
  • Could I just point out that the OP has long since disappeared?

He said he was going with rim brakes 3 days ago.....

P.S. (The only mechanical discs I ever tried were useless. For me discs = hydraulic).
  • meanredspider
    Could I just point out that the OP has long since disappeared?

He said he was going with rim brakes 3 days ago.....

P.S. (The only mechanical discs I ever tried were useless. For me discs = hydraulic).

That's not entirely accurate. He said he thought he would go with rim brakes. And his decision seemed to be based upon a fallacy propagated on here - that TA is the way to go and that somehow might make it futureproof. As I've said several times in this thread alone, there's plenty of adaptors to make TA wheels compatible with QR.

If the OP has made his decision based upon that, it's a real shame because it's simply wrong. But, hey-ho, that's what happens when you ask an Internet forum.

PS - I've obviously been riding on useless brakes for 5 years and haven't noticed...
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • step83
    step83 Posts: 4,170