Cycle Police - interesting chat

Comments

• mar_k wrote:
    Ah yes I know the ones.
    As a lorry driver I have sometimes stopped just touching them as the lights can catch you out.

I do try to stop behind the line but some times its just not possible.

As a driver you are allowed to stop in them but only if the lights are changing to red and you can't otherwise stop before the ASL. This is one of the issues around enforcing them - can't use cameras as drivers can just claim they were approaching/in the box when the lights changed.

how do red light cameras work then ?? its not that they don't want to its just that councils/whoever is responsible can't be ar5ed to. you would surprised how little of a software adjustment needs to be done
    Veni Vidi cyclo I came I saw I cycled
    exercise.png
  • prj45 wrote:
    mar_k wrote:
    Can some one please tell me what an ASL is?

Advanced stop line

The area reserved for bikes at traffic lights

No it's not.

Vehicles (including cycles) are not allowed to move over the first white line when the light is red, if they do they commit an offence (yes, that includes you on your bike) *

If a vehicle crosses the first white line, and then the light goes red it must stop at the second white line.

* cyclist may circumvent this by using the filter lane for cyclists to pass the first white line without crossing it.

Note cars can legally occupy the area.

And you think the Police would prosecute a cyclist crossing the first white line rather than using the filter lane? I think not. And its intent is for it to be reserved for cyclists - that's correct. As with many traffic laws, the subtleties are often complex. I wasn't trying to quote the Highway Code nor any Road Traffic Act.

if i remember to take the pic of it i will show you an ASL that is impossible to use legally on a cycle when the lights are red. cracking work by the ODA
    exercise.png
  • keyser__soze
    keyser__soze Posts: 2,067