Massively offtopic: 'future financial dependants'

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,412
    DonDaddyD wrote:
    rjsterry wrote:

I take it you think Mrs DDD is less career driven or is happy to park her career for a few years? Of course it'll affect your career, but the point is that you may find raising children as if not more rewarding than your career.

To draw comparisons:

Mrs DDD has spent over 10 years building a career in Law, to my understanding in her circle, in Law there are many, she is respected and considered brilliant. I've got incredible levels of respect for her and how she achieved.

I have been working full time for 4 years. I've learned a lot about myself in these years and want to explore what I can really achieve.

I want to achieve professionally for various personal reasons. It wouldn't make me a better man or Father, but I would feel pride when looking in the mirror (not that I don't right now, I do) and would be able to provide more comfortably for my family.

I also want a Honda Civic, then a Mercedes, a four bedroom house with a garage and a big kitchen for Ms DDD, a 42-46inch TV and at least two holidays abroad. I also want to take my kids to Disney Land when they're 10. Amongst other things.

Sorry, missed the bit where you said that Mrs DDD did want to stop work, but I think this makes things easier: you want to keep working she is ready to take a break from employment; you both seem to want children. I don't know your financial situation in detail, but from what you've said, it sounds like it would be more than feasible financially, although you might have to settle for a second hand Civic.

The other point I was trying to make was that while pursuing your career might not make you a better Dad, being a Dad might indirectly help your career.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • ex-pat scot
    ex-pat scot Posts: 939