Swinley Forest / The Lookout

Comments

• timmys
    timmys Posts: 191
    flamedude wrote:
    I've seen the weirdest stuff out there in those woods.....

Yeah? Cough up... I hope it isn't going to be bloody Harry Potter related!
  • tuxpoo
    tuxpoo Posts: 138
    I have never seen anything "really" strange... But i do remeber something about a witches coven practicing at the devils highway (near seagul) in the local news around 1985. The complaint was about them lighting fires in the woods and causing damage... tbh even then no one cared about the "witchcraft" bit.

seen a few "courting couples" in my time. :shock:

Never seen the crowthorne puma.. I hear it only likes MTBs with carbon frames as the ally gets stuck in its teeth.

tux
  • Can someone help me with some of the names at Swinley... I've been riding there for a few years and whilst I still seem to find new trails, there are a few favourites which I'm sure are named...

Firstly (and I hope my descriptions make sense), there's a route which runs from a Green bench (Pip's bench) on about 15 mins of winding singletrack across 5 or 6 fireroads, ending up at the jump gully... may go a bit further, but that seems to be the natural conclusions...

Secondly, there's a rollercoastery bit - starts in the trees with a drop down to the fireroad, followed by a short climb, short stoney descent, short climb etc...

Finally, quite near no 2 above, there's a technical section which snakes back and forth over the area of a tennis court (maybe slightly larger) with some drop off, very tight turns, roots etc - all in one, quite open section...

That probably makes no sense but hopefully someone will recognise the descriptions... I'm fed up calling them 'that route from the bench' and suchlike!!
  • anjs
    anjs Posts: 486
    the first one in the the long run going in to the full nine yards
  • timmys
    timmys Posts: 191
    I'd say the third one sounds like the Corkscrew.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667