Richmond Park 3-lap Challenge - 2008

Comments

• The emu
    The emu Posts: 347
    I'm new to London (Yes another Aussie), and have been waiting patiently for my bike to come through from back order.

Its now sitting in my living room ready to rock, but still waiting on a couple of things to come in before taking off. I can't wait.

I haven't ridden in 6 months, and in hindsight would have been better served bringing my old bike over here with me (someone told me bikes were cheap over here :shock: ).

Anyway, back to to topic on hand. I'm keen on having a real crack at this challenge not living too far away (West Kensi), but my LBS mentioned that there are speed limits on these roads and the cops are out in force (including cyclists).

Any truth in this rumour?

I'll post my times when done, but I don't expect anything speedy given my fitness and get accustomed to my new treadly.

The long grazed legged one
  • jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    There is a 20mph limit on the roads in the park. This was introduced a few years ago to try and limit the roadkill of deer by cars. There is occasional enforcement by the police. They are usually positioned on the clockwise downhill between the richmond and sheen gates. I prefer anti-clockwise anyway :)
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    Tbh, if you want to do the best time you can, you need to get there in early morning or around closing time, when there's much less traffic.

Looking forward to see your times, DC and Emu. Might have a couple of guys who challenge the likes of Shavedlegs and Andy Bye? :)
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • AmateurDC
    AmateurDC Posts: 26