Seemingly trivial things that intrigue you

Comments

• Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,589
    Ben6899 said:

Pross said:

Oh, and the other issue is you end up with HGVs driving millimetres off your bumper - they seem incapable of understanding you are driving to the limit and as they are able to drive at the same speed they won't give any space so I tend to go in lane 3 out of their way.

Had this - with the HGVs - driving north on Sunday.
    I really don't get it, there was one I saw last week and it must have been less than a metre off the car in front. As a driver I would be nervously hovering over the brakes in a car if for any reason I had to do that, if I'm driving a car and an HGV driver is doing that to me I'll be leaving a huge gap in front so I don't have to test his reactions. It's not like they are going to get anywhere if they bully you out of the way.
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    HGVs shouldn't be on the roads on Sundays anyway, IMO. Seems to work in mainland Europe without affecting supermarket shelves or petrol stations.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/
    Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143173475@N05/
  • Ben6899 said:

pangolin said:

Every time I am on one of these 50 stretches, the majority will be doing 50 or a hair over (much better adherence than to a 70 limit with normal cameras), and then you'll get the odd person just completely ignoring it going something over 60.

This always intrigues me.

They don't understand how average speed cameras work. Is my take.
    About 56 on your car speedo equals 52 on GPS.

78 about 72/73.
  • monkimark
    monkimark Posts: 1,548
    I seem to recall that around 5% of drivers on the road are unlicensed/uninsured so presumably the number plate wouldn't help identify them on an ANPR camera.
    Ben6899 said:

pangolin said: