Boris Johnson's Burkha Comments

Comments

• dstev55
    dstev55 Posts: 742
    Not comfortable with a woman in a niqab?

And then you go on to say the govt needs to grow some balls?

Ahahaha ok mate.

Thought I would get a smarter response than that... :roll:
  • dstev55 wrote:
    Yeah so forcing any dress on or off anyone is sh!t.

But it works both ways.

Just let people wear wtf they want to and let them do it in peace.

That doesn't exactly work in practice though does it?

For example I am a store manager in a supermarket and I am not comfortable with people entering my shop with a full face covering. Whether that be a Niqab, a motorcycle helmet, a balaclava, whatever. If it was a motorcycle helmet we'd ask the customer to remove it, if it was a balaclava we'd probably hand over the cash. A Niqab? Not a lot we can do is there? And in the interests of security and safety of my staff, I think it needs to be addressed. In fact, in the interests of UK security I think the government need to grow a pair and follow the Scandinavian way.

As for Boris's comments? All a bit childish really isn't it?

Can I ask if robbers hiding their identity with a Niqab is a serious issue in retail? if so are there stats that Boris should be using to support his argument
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    dstev55 wrote:

Ahahaha ok mate.

Keeping fighting the good fight.

Keep that bog roll close to hand.
  • dstev55
    dstev55 wrote:

But it works both ways.