CIRC report

Comments

• above_the_cows
    above_the_cows Posts: 11,406
    Where do you drawn the line at 'perform'? Where is the line between need drugs to function as a normal human being and taking drugs to enhance your performance? I for example have regular cortisone and lidocaine injections, I would hope that if I was a professional athlete I would get a TUE for this. I don't think it is fair that someone's career would be over because they have carpal tunnel which has nothing to do with say being able to run a marathon and everything to do with being able to sleep without pain in your hand, hold a pen, pick up a glass etc.

I'm afraid I can't agree with Nys, 'naturally a good athlete'? What does that even mean? Define 'natural'? I wonder what he thinks of Jack Bobridge who has rheumatoid arthritis, the causes of which are unknown, with some claiming genes. Would Nys wish for a world where only a genetically perfect human can be an athlete? I wouldn't, that sounds horribly of a by gone era and who decides what a genetically perfect human is anyway? How do you factor out for those who are 'not perfect' through nature and those that are 'not perfect' through environment?

It's a stupid argument if you give it any thought. Drugs are natural, everything on this planet is natural. He sounds like one of those people who don't vaccinate their kids because it isn't 'natural'. Performance enhancement isn't about what is natural or not its about a sport setting normative socially constructed limits as rules.

Now if Sven wants to advocate for a social construction based on 'natural' human beings then there's a eugenics club waiting for his membership.
    Correlation is not causation.
  • joelsim
    joelsim Posts: 7,552
    Some interesting chat from Sven Nys on an hour long cycling chat prog.

There's the usual chat about when he rode P-R with Rabo in 2001 with Geer, but that's all boring.

What was interesting, was his chat about weight and anorexia in the peloton.