Alpe D'HuZes

Comments

• PMSL at the vultures circling over my bent and broken body waiting to see when the last flicker of life leaves my eyes....

....so they can pinch my bike! :D

BTW - Cyclist magazine did a nice positive review of the Volagi Liscio this month
    ROAD < Scott Foil HMX Di2, Volagi Liscio Di2, Jamis Renegade Elite Di2, Cube Reaction Race > ROUGH
  • PMSL at the vultures circling over my bent and broken body waiting to see when the last flicker of life leaves my eyes....

....so they can pinch my bike! :D

BTW - Cyclist magazine did a nice positive review of the Volagi Liscio this month

KlingonDeathRitual.jpg
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • mrc1
    mrc1 Posts: 852
    Just had a read through the thread and this certainly sounds.... erm..... interesting!

My 2p on the training front (I'm a coach and own Le Domestique Tours, so have a lot of experience when it comes to the mountains):

First off, really hone in on what it is you are actually going to be doing. As I understand it, this is going to be climbing for anything from 1-2 hrs, followed by a 15-30 min descent, repeated. So with that in mind you have to train smart and try to replicate this level and type of work.

1. Get your weight down as much as you can. Even a small drop in weight is going to make a huge difference over this challenge so that would be my major focus.
    2. Understand the three energy systems at play and the fact that your aerobic energy system is going to be the one that you HAVE to rely on for this challenge. Also understand that any efforts approaching or above your aerobic threshold, will cost you over the course of the day (the concept of burning matches), so should be avoided as much as possible.