When to down a gel?

Rulebritania
Rulebritania Posts: 209
Hi,
I've got a couple hi 5 gels but I have no idea when I should take one. I am a beginner so I'm pushing hard and managing 20-25 miles without gel but I'm going to push further on Saturday.

What sort of distances should I be thinking to take one?
At what point in the ride?
What boost will I expect?
Are they really worth it?
Don't call me sir I work for a living

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Firstly, I don't think Gels are worth using outside of racing, so with that in mind........

What sort of distances should I be thinking to take one? 50 Miles and over
    At what point in the ride? 45mins - 60mins intervals
    What boost will I expect? Never felt a "boost"
    Are they really worth it? In racing, yes
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    No need really for a training ride, I only ever use them when racing, when eating is not an option, ie 50 mile and 100 mile TT's.

For a training ride, just eat normal food, though to be honest you have enough stored energy in your body if eating a good balanced diet for 3 or 4 hours if riding at an endurance effort, you will only start eating into glycogen alot quicker if you really ramp the effort up, but then you would probably struggle to do more than 2 hours anyhow whether you ate anything or not as fatigue would set in.

How far do you plan on going, and how long would you expect this to take you, and at what effort were you planning on.
  • Cheers Fella's
    I'm only a beginner at all this although I am already hooked. :mrgreen:
    My furthest ride was week last Wed: 34.1mi Distance 1,723ft Elevation 02:45:48 Moving Time

I want to better that distance wise anyway.
  • Hi,
    I've got a couple hi 5 gels but I have no idea when I should take one. I am a beginner so I'm pushing hard and managing 20-25 miles without gel but I'm going to push further on Saturday.

What sort of distances should I be thinking to take one?