Winter Prep :(

Comments

• gabriel959
    gabriel959 Posts: 4,227
    Any Londoner who was cold this morning isn't riding hard enough. FACT.

My 2 experiences of Altura have been terrible. Poor quality, fell apart quickly.

If anyone is in the market for good winter overshoes, Prendas is your friend. These are fabulous: http://www.prendas.co.uk/details.asp?typ=typ&fkid=17&ID=3024

They might be good but they are expensive.

I would buy these instead, £11 cheaper! - I have been using them for 2 years now and they are great, they also still look good as well. http://www.wiggle.co.uk/pro-tarmac-npu-road-overshoes/
    x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x
    Commuting / Winter rides - Jamis Renegade Expert
    Pootling / Offroad - All-City Macho Man Disc
    Fast rides Cannondale SuperSix Ultegra
  • pangolin
    pangolin Posts: 6,632
    rjsterry wrote:
    True, I was questioning my choice of mitts after a couple of miles. Actually, the glare from the low sun was what I found most uncomfortable.

Yes.

Has anyone worked out how to wear sunnies when you're also wearing ear warmers?

When you have ears like Andrew Marr your ears get painful quite quickly.

In winter I use a buff, in one of its various configurations. It takes a bit of fiddling the first few times to find a method that stays on, doesn't leave flappy bits and covers everything you want it to, but once you do it's really good.

Today wore normal shorts, shoes, mitts, cap, but added a softshell jacket. This was good to start with but ended up a but too warm at the end. Mitts started off chilly but fine after 10 minutes. Shoes were fine with no overshoes. I'm still using the £10 Planet X ones when it's cold (not for a while), seem to be holding together well.
    - Genesis Croix de Fer
    - Dolan Tuono
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    rjsterry wrote:
    True, I was questioning my choice of mitts after a couple of miles. Actually, the glare from the low sun was what I found most uncomfortable.

Yes.