Winter Prep :(

Comments

• rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    dhope wrote:
    I invested in a Rapha softshell last year (they kindly sent me a 20% off code for it) and I was very impressed (so impressed that I bought a softshell Gilet as well!). Kept me toasty warm in Jan/Feb on some seriously cold rides out into Surrey. Might invest in some toe covers this years as those are really the only parts of my feet that suffered last winter.

Toe covers are awesome.

Any toe-cover recommendations?

Saw them for the first time on Jon Ginge only this year, so I'm new to the whole toe-cover thing.
  • jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    I was using these:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/craft-winter-toe-cover/

toasty. Seemed to have stood up well to commute riding too
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • dhope
    dhope Posts: 6,699
    JonGinge wrote:
    I was using these:

Have same ones and they're good.
    Bottom a bit frayed and torn from being lazy and walking with them still on the shoe, but they're holding together well
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • DrLex
    DrLex Posts: 2,142
    This thread reminds me that last winter, only a pair of snowboarding gauntlets could keep my fingers warm, but at the expense of changing gears. Any of you care to offer opinions & experiences of the best winter ( i.e. cold) gloves that still offer a modicum of dexterity with the STI shifters? Anticipating a Lobster-flavoured slant to the answers...
  • TommyEss
    TommyEss Posts: 1,855
    I layer up for winter - liners, "regular" winter gloves (quite waterproof/resistant), and then squeeze my knackered old gore windstopper gloves over the top of that (seam on the finger split, so no good on their own, but a good barrier as a third option)

So with that - maybe take your regular gloves into the bikes shop and try on a big pair of windstopper gloves to check they'll go over the top?