Beginner needs advice on upgrading Carrera Banshee.

CustomC
CustomC Posts: 122
edited June 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi, first of all i would like to say hello to everyone on this forum as i have just joined.
I come here to seek expert advice on upgrading/ building bikes. I am part of lots of computer forums which i am an expert on through reading and learning, so i have come here to do the same.

So here goes, i would really appreciate your help on the following:

Info on my bike:
It is a Carrera Banshee 2008 model in red.
DSC00230.jpg

What i would like to upgrade is

Fork, Brake system, Crank(pedals axle etc) Which are crucial because they are broken or falling apart
and at a later date the rear suspension and wheels.

Now i am a newbie and i do not under stand all the terminology when buying bike parts on eBay, i want to get it right the first time so all/any help is greatly appreciated.

What im really asking for is for someone to point me in the right direction when buying a fork.

Fork: I would like an air fork if my budget allows, dont mind used but i how do i know it will fit my bike. I know that steerer tube is the bit that joins the fork to your frame and i believe that you need to cut that to size.. Which im reluctant on doing on a fork that iwe just spent lot of money on and to find i done it wrong.

Brakes, want Hydraulic disc brakes 160mm and bigger rotors, preferably pre-bled so i do not have to spend money on extra tools to fill them etc. I do not understand the idea behind IS or post mounts ETC so i need someone to tell me what will fit on the bike and what will need which adapters.

Crank is the biggest problem, either the axle or the thing as a whole is bent and i do not like that.. so how do i go about buying a new crank, pedals arms the bit that goes inside the frame, basically the whole set. So i need a new. used one to replace.