How old are the newbies to road cycling?

Comments

• CarleyB
    CarleyB Posts: 475
    Where are all the ladies?

*cough* 36

I cycled everywhere as a kid. Danced, had kids, danced some more, taught dancing, bought a MTB when I was 29. I cycled everywhere then got caught with my 3rd and 4th children so all exercise took a back seat.
    Last year I dusted the MTB off and within 2 months had bought a second hand Giant SCR3 which I still love. I joined a club and went out cycling with an old work colleague who I came across...or rather he came across me on here and we cycled together.
    My daughter then started cycling with me, she joined a club and I got asked to become a coach.
    I'm now a trainee coach with British Cycling which then led to me becoming a bikeability instructor and then a sky ride leader !!! I absolutely love riding my bike and teaching kids skills and riding out with them is also just the best feeling. I feel very very lucky.
    Level 3 Road & Time Trial Coach, Level 2 Track Coach.

Blackpool Clarion CC
    http://blackpoolclarion.webs.com/

Blackpool Youth Cycling Association
    http://www.go-ride-byca.org
  • Thebigbee
    Thebigbee Posts: 570
    CarleyB wrote:
    Where are all the ladies?

I just don't think women are as anal as blokes when it comes to the internet. They either seem to enjoy talking crap to you, their mates or family on the phone or random strangers on Facebook!

Maybe that is just my experience and I am weird.

Guess I am communicating with random strangers on here. The difference being it is about an interest that I have. And the other difference is that it has some kind of purpose - however selfish.

It's about a hobby that we all enjoy..

I guess women are the same. Facebook seems to be their hobby. Oh - "I poke you back" - Why - what is the point - what does it mean? "She poked me first"!

OK, that makes perfect sense. Someone is virtually poking you. Brilliant!!