Traffic Light Etiquette

Comments

• Chip \'oyler
    Chip \'oyler Posts: 2,323
    fermion wrote:
    I think the arguments on here for not going through red lights are ridiculous. I'll try and sum them up, and explain why they're wrong:

1) "It's the law" - You may blindly follow the law, but I am capable of using some common sense and judgment. IMO the law is idiotic - cars and bicycles are not the same in any way - they are different sizes, travel at different speeds, and one has the potential to do a hell of a lot more damage than the other. If it was so dangerous to turn left on a red light on a bike, why the hell does it work so effectively in countries that are more cyclist friendly than here, namely the Netherlands.

2) "It upsets car drivers" - To be honest I couldn't give a damn about car drivers who have a problem with cyclists. If you think all cyclists stopping at red lights will stop them hating cyclists, you are incredibly naive. And I say this as a car driver myself, but one that understands the differences between cars and bikes. I'm not going to put my self at risk to appease some moron clogging up the roads with his car.

3) "It's dangerous" - No. It works extremely effectively in other countries, ie. the Netherlands. Arguably it is safer than getting stuck in a queue of traffic with aggressive motorists and HGV drivers. A competent cyclist capable of employing common sense will be able to RLJ perfectly safely.

Well done 'big man'. You carry on jumping lights.
    Expertly coached by http://www.vitessecyclecoaching.co.uk/

http://vineristi.wordpress.com - the blog for Viner owners and lovers!
  • antfly
    antfly Posts: 3,276
    This is one way of getting through a red light that shouldn`t upset anyone.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EAqVJUm_Fs
    That`s me BTW.
    Smarter than the average bear.
  • on the road
    on the road Posts: 5,631
    I feel so great, like I've "come out" :lol: