OT: Employment advice (again)

always_tyred
always_tyred Posts: 4,965
edited January 2010 in Commuting chat
Does anyone know where the reasonable boundaries lie in terms of attire and presentation at work?

I work in the legal field. I've never had complaints before, but in the last 6 months I've been told I need a better suit, better shirts and yesterday I got told go go and have a shave before attending a meeting. Its actually quite humiliating.

I've got a new suit and new shirts (which I thought were nice until she commented on them a few times), new ties and I have short tidy hair, etc. but to prevent constant itching and blotchiness I shave every 2 days or so.

I think the (female) partner is overstepping the mark and I'm getting increasingly uncomfortable (there are other issues which I can't go into). What else is there left for her to comment on? (She owns the firm - jointly - and seems to have no barometer or anyone to moderate her behaviour).

Where's the line and is she crossing it?

Comments

• Wallace1492
    Wallace1492 Posts: 3,707
    Does anyone know where the reasonable boundaries lie in terms of attire and presentation at work?

I work in the legal field. I've never had complaints before, but in the last 6 months I've been told I need a better suit, better shirts and yesterday I got told go go and have a shave before attending a meeting. Its actually quite humiliating.

I've got a new suit and new shirts (which I thought were nice until she commented on them a few times), new ties and I have short tidy hair, etc. but to prevent constant itching and blotchiness I shave every 2 days or so.

I think the (female) partner is overstepping the mark and I'm getting increasingly uncomfortable (there are other issues which I can't go into). What else is there left for her to comment on? (She owns the firm - jointly - and seems to have no barometer or anyone to moderate her behaviour).

You need to stop shopping at Oxfam..... :shock: