Bike cleaning

NoGearNoIdea
NoGearNoIdea Posts: 3
edited April 2018 in Road beginners
Hi, I’m fairly new to this so forgive my simplicity. I have litres of car shampoo that I’m never going to use thanks to the numerous hand car wash places. Can I use this to safely clean my disc brake bike? And does anyone know of a thru axle compatible chain keeper?

Thanks

Comments

• Matthewfalle
    Matthewfalle Posts: 17,380
    Yes to the car shampoo. It's car shempoo and it's a bicycle.
    Postby team47b » Sun Jun 28, 2015 11:53 am

De Sisti wrote:
    This is one of the silliest threads I've come across. :lol:

Recognition at last Matthew, well done!, a justified honour :D
    smithy21 wrote:

He's right you know.
  • 3wheeler
    3wheeler Posts: 110
    The only problem you might have with car shampoo is that they are very gentle because they're designed not to remove the wax you might have applied to your car's paintwork. Certainly won't cause any harm to your bike but if it doesn't shift the oily/greasy dirt then maybe get a bike or motorbike specific one.

Also get some degreaser to clean the drivetrain.
  • 3wheeler wrote:
    The only problem you might have with car shampoo is that they are very gentle because they're designed not to remove the wax you might have applied to your car's paintwork. Certainly won't cause any harm to your bike but if it doesn't shift the oily/greasy dirt then maybe get a bike or motorbike specific one.

Thanks. Any recommendations for a thru axle chain keeper?
  • photonic69
    photonic69 Posts: 2,732
    NO! Well Yes and NO!

Car shampoo is fine for the frame but it plays havoc with the brakes and rims/discs as most shampoos (good ones) contain paint conditioners and waxes. I know if I use them on my road bike the rim brakes squeal and shriek like a murdered pig. Same goes for my mountain bike with hydro disks.