Is being good at cycling a realistic goal?

BMRB
BMRB Posts: 14
Hey everyone, so I have been cycling for 3 years and I'll give you a run through of my experience before asking a few questions. So I started cycling few years back between Feb to October and after about 1400 miles I finally averaged 15mph. Then I took a three months break and lost all my gain. Then I stared again in 2016 but went on a holiday in summer for a month and lost my strength again. Then I cycled from there till Feb 2017 including cycling in winter so I don't lose my gains but life happens and I became busy in February and lost my gains again. Since then I've been cycling on and off hovering between 12-13mph average. A few things to note, I cycle the same route everytime and my area is very hilly. I cycle mostly 10 miles, more than half being going uphill. Most I've done in my little to below 3 years is 24 miles. After about two months of 10 miles cycling, I'll then increase length. My bike is a proper carbon road bike so I have the gear to do the proper distance. In my first year I'd cycle 6 days a week. As years went by it became less.

When I become good at cycling and take a break for a month I lose all my gain. I feel very angry that this happens. Not only does it take a long time to build endurance and strength, you lose it soon as you look away. On top of that I do have a few bottlenecks that have caused me to not increase my endurance/strength. The hours it takes to cover 20+ miles and my sit bones aching. I've adjusted my seat and even bought a premium castelli bib which the site or manufacture didn't bother pointing out that these premium branded clothes are racing fit only. So I bought it and the seat pad doesn't even cover my sit bones which to me makes the whole bib useless, I'm not bothered about the Aero gain.