Lots of Cycling and Little Weight Loss

Comments

• bobmcstuff
    bobmcstuff Posts: 11,196
    What worked for me was calorie counting and aiming for a nominal 1000cal deficit Monday to Thursday then pretty much having Friday-Sunday off. I find if I'm working it's pretty easy as I don't really miss the food, but if I deny myself nice things at the weekend then I get grumpy. Also if I get a big ride in at the weekend I feel like it balances out. I did try the 5:2 but 600cal days were just too much for me, I'm not good at being starving all day. Find it much easier mentally to burn (say) 2500cal and eat 1500cal, because 1500cal chosen well still feels like a reasonable amount of food.

These days I seem to be able to manage my weight just by doing as much cycling as possible (and running in the winter) and eating fairly sensibly...
  • markhewitt1978
    markhewitt1978 Posts: 7,614
    I've been having problems with what feels like muscle strain in my back, seats especially seeming uncomfortable to sit on. So I'm wondering if I'm having some muscle loss issues, or just the fat cushioning has gone!

I have lost 13kg in 4 months, (85kg to 72kg) perhaps I might need to go onto more of a maintenance diet for a while to let things stabilise, although I would prefer to get to 70kg as at least my BMI would be 'healthy'.

My real goal is around 63kg but I suspect that might have to wait a little longer.

I do wonder if my protien intake is sufficient, I tend to revert to carbs rather than protein, and from what I've seen at 160lb I need something like 80g-125g of protein per day. Not entirely sure how much I'm getting but I wouldn't be surprised if it was half of that. I could change what I'm eating or add in some of that protein power you see in massive big vats.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123