Watts Not Translating To Speed

2»

Comments

• trek_dan
    trek_dan Posts: 1,366
    I only say this as I have some experience from a friend of mine who had a similar issue/obsession with his weight/numbers - are you sure your eating and nourished properly?
  • iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    What level of racing is this? He does appear to be using Stages, maybe all his power is in his right leg? :lol:
  • buckmulligan
    buckmulligan Posts: 1,031
    NapoleonD wrote:
    The only explanation I can see is any combination of riding out of the slipstream, on a very heavy bike, with bad tyres, brakes rubbing, sat bolt upright, with a Powermeter with a borked calibration slope.

I know this was mostly a tongue-in-cheek comment, but NapD is right on the money here in that there's likely a lot of different factors at play that are cumulatively robbing you of a lot of speed and/or overestimating your power output. You're going to have to address a lot of different things to close that gap but the good news is that a lot of that is "free speed". Here are the things I'd address (in order of approximate easiness):

(1) Power meter accuracy: You seem fairly certain that the PM is fairly accurate, but I'd take a look at some of your data and see if it correlates with the immutable laws of physics! If you have power data for a decent length climb (ideally 5k+ at 5%+) you can stick it into a number of free online calculation programs (e.g. BestBikeSplit or just do the maths yourself) to see if the power values tally. It has to be uphill (and the steeper and more consistent slope the better) to minimise the effect of aerodynamics, which I think we've established is a big uncertainty at the moment; you'll also need an accurate weight estimation for this ride (i.e. you + bike + bidons + toolkit + food + everything else) but it should immediately give you an idea if your PM is reading 50W out.