Fred Whitton advise

ilovegrace
ilovegrace Posts: 677
Compliments of the Season to you all.
I am contemplating entering the Fred Whitton and need a little help!
I have been cycling for a couple of years now 30 miles (round trip) 4 times a week. hilly commute and 50 plus miles over the north yorks moors on a Sunday.
This and a little more has helped me ride several half decent sportives based in the North Yorks Moors area the longest been 90 miles
I am 53 and in decent nick , I have option to put more training in but not a great deal more.
I know from my fell running training that i respond better to hilly miles rather than intervals.
Any help on
1 How much more training would I need to do.
2 Should I bother .
look forward to hearing from you
regards
ILG

Comments

• It really depends on your goals. If it's simply to get round before the sun sets then your current fitness level will probably be OK as long as you keep it topped up over the next 4-5 months...but it will be a long and hard day, possibly including walking up Hardknott and Wrynose. If you want to get round in a reasonable time (8-9 hours) then you'll probably need to up your mileage during the first few months of 2015. Any faster (sub 8 hours is deemed 'decent') then even more training will be needed.

Make sure you have low enough gears for Honister, Hardknott and Wrynose. The majority of people end up walking Hardknott....which isn't the easiest tasks in cleats.

Good luck !
  • nammynake wrote:
    It really depends on your goals. If it's simply to get round before the sun sets then your current fitness level will probably be OK as long as you keep it topped up over the next 4-5 months...but it will be a long and hard day, possibly including walking up Hardknott and Wrynose. If you want to get round in a reasonable time (8-9 hours) then you'll probably need to up your mileage during the first few months of 2015. Any faster (sub 8 hours is deemed 'decent') then even more training will be needed.