Energy drinks, gels and bars

TinyMac
TinyMac Posts: 19
edited July 2014 in Road general
What brand do you use, and for what distance rides?

I heard some very convincing spiel from a Torq rep at a recent event but obviously from a very biased standpoint.

I'm new to this and my longest ride so far is just over 25miles, I just take one 600ml bottle of water. My partner cycles a lot more and tends to go for whatever is on offer but I'd rather know if there's an actual difference between them, other than the packaging.

I did taste some of the Torq gels and they were lovely, however they need to actually do something as well as that! Any personal recommendations?

I understand the basics that obviously a liquid is into your system almost immediately, a gel within a few minutes and a solid/bar will obviously be longer. Even in the heat I often struggle to drink a full 600ml of water in 25 miles and obviously there's no need for me to still be drinking an energy drink when I get home!

Comments

• DiscoBoy
    DiscoBoy Posts: 905
    Those sorts of products would be a waste of money for you. When you start doing longer rides just take some "normal" food like a banana, cereal bar, flapjack, malt loaf etc.
    Red bikes are the fastest.
  • TinyMac wrote:

I heard some very convincing spiel from a Torq rep at a recent event but obviously from a very biased standpoint.

ORLY-183.jpg
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Agree with the above from discoboy

For the vast majority of people, riding non-competitively, using specific energy products just isn't required.

Even as someone riding 200+ miles a day on a regular basis, I don't use them and prefer to keep my food real. I have used gels as a small part of a feeding plan in very long time trials, but again, preferred to keep it real.