There is no camaraderie between cyclists anymore more.

DonDaddyD
DonDaddyD Posts: 12,689
edited November 2012 in Commuting chat
There is no camaraderie between cyclists anymore more. Band of Brother

[you don’t really need to read this bit]

So there I was having the commute of my life! The mixture of fresh oil and rain had made a perfect lubricant on my bike. I was literally Venge link purring along at 20mph. Choosing, when I so pleased, to take things to 21, 22 and even the unbelievable 23mph.

Ealing quickly became Kew where I hit Kew Bridge. I felt the vibration of the road through my saddle. It meant one thing, a p*ncture. Now I’m on Continental Gatorkskins, this doesn’t happen often but it doesn’t matter because I’m a pro, so I start digging into my bag.

“Pump” “Innertube” “Tyre levers…. er tyre levers” “F.U.C.K.”

So I tried to lever the tyre with a very old Top Peak Einstein. Now I’m no genius but that thing doesn’t work. I tried a combination of allen keys and proper keys. It just would not happen.
[/you don’t really need to read this bit]

Now I can live with this, I didn’t have the right equipment to change my innertube so it meant a train from Kew to Clapham Junction to Wimbledon and the walk home.

However, what bugged me was I saw at least 10 cyclists ride past me that evening. Hybrids, road bikes, mountain bikes the lot. And not one of them asked if or stopped to see if I was alright. Not one.

You see I’m old school. I was cycling to work back in 2007 when it wasn’t cool. There was no Team Sky and the Cycle to Work Scheme looked like an email from Nigeria asking for your bank details.

Yes, there were about 25 of us tearing around London but we knew how to look after each other. Yes, if upright, we would leave a man behind. But if you were stationery with your bike upside down and one or both of your wheels off, we’d asked “You alright mate?”