Etape Caledonia 2013

167891012»

Comments

• adr82
    adr82 Posts: 4,002
    RandG wrote:
    adr82 wrote:
    .. the pair of us overtook a group of at least 20 on the way to Weem. Most of them tagged onto us and then did absolutely no work, the two of us had to tow them all the way from Weem down to Logierait :roll: Seriously lazy people. When we got to Logierait a few of them suddenly appeared at the front to try and race off up the hill, but most of them got dropped there (how sad :) ) and they were all gone by the time we got to Pitlochry, except for the guy who'd been doing the work with me. !

That sounds affy like the group I tagged on to and did zilch work, cheers for that, I would never have had the time I had if it wasn't for you guys. 8)

NB: If you read back you'll see a confession posting from me, I made no apologies for it, as a complete novice and my first sportive who's only just taken up the sport I was just glad to be able to hang in there.
    Hah if it was then no worries, I was really annoyed at the time but that was more due to being sore and tired than anything else, I do know better than to expect to find everyone willing/able to do turns on the front :P
    htsw5 wrote:
    The one advantage of me starting in the last wave was that I had a very relaxed start. I waited in the car park for a bit and then waited in the event area before finally wandering up when there was only a couple of waves to left to start.

Just a thought if you want to avoid the melee...
    Sure, but the thing is if you do that when you're aiming for <4 hours pace then you're probably not going to find anyone to ride with if you start that late and so you will end up doing it all on your own! I was hoping to get into a decent group right from the start and ideally for that you need to be going off early. Maybe I'll do that next year though, would give me some extra time in bed in the morning :D
  • nweststeyn
    nweststeyn Posts: 1,574