Big difference between climbs and flats

Ec0
Ec0 Posts: 24
edited September 2012 in Road beginners
I'm still pretty new at this so it may seem a strange question but I'd appreciate if some of the experienced guys could take a look at the linked Strava data (i know its not the most accurate thing in the world but it should suffice for my question :P ) http://app.strava.com/rides/21140584#achievements

Now on the flat/downhill segment for "Heighington Lane" my time has rolled in 9/60 and at just under 50kph for myself who has only been cycling for 2 weeks I'm pretty happy with it. With the climb sections I seem to struggle much more and at best I'm middle of the pack. The longer shallow uphill runs seem specifically bad. The Rushyford one can be ignored as I was ruined at that point thanks to it being very hot and forgetting my water bottle, but the "School Drag" segment was pretty early on and is still slow even though I felt as if I was working quite hard.

So the question is are large gaps in performance between the flats and climbs typical in new riders or is this just a case of a TT bike flattering an otherwise average rider :oops:

Comments

• sounds like weight.
  • Barteos
    Barteos Posts: 657
    Poor power to weight ratio.
  • Ec0
    Ah well with power to weight I'd guess its the power part dragging me down as at 6'1'' I'm just under 73kg so more hill work or high gear work (maybe squats in the gym) would be the way to improve?

Cheers for the replies :mrgreen:
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211