Panic buying

Comments

• Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    Jez mon wrote:
    It's extra, as in the spending wouldn't have happened within this qtr otherwise.

Ah I see. So basically this quarter ends on Saturday? So I was correct - it's just shifting spending forward a few days? People filling this week instead of next, etc. Just makes 'this quarter' look better on the books...
  • alihisgreat
    alihisgreat Posts: 3,872
    Pokerface wrote:
    How can this possibly have raised an 'extra £32 million'? Surely people just filled up earlier than they normally would. Everyone didn't go out and drive an extra 300 miles today. It money spent today that would have been spent in the coming days anyway. It's not 'extra' money.

You're forgetting the extra driving done whilst people are searching for a petrol station that actually has fuel.

But I wasn't really sure about this either.. as an economist I should probably be able to work it out?! It just seems like an inter-temporal thing to me -> so you're right... its just carrying round next week's petrol in the tank.

There will be extra sales of petrol cans though.. and the extra weight in the car has to count for something.. however small that may be.
  • Kenjaja1
    Kenjaja1 Posts: 744
    Pokerface wrote:
    How can this possibly have raised an 'extra £32 million'? Surely people just filled up earlier than they normally would. Everyone didn't go out and drive an extra 300 miles today. It money spent today that would have been spent in the coming days anyway. It's not 'extra' money.

You are quite right

It is also true that, perceiving problems obtaining petrol in the coming days, many people will be frugal with fuel. The net result may well be an extra £32 million revenue on one day - followed by decreases in following days and a slight decrease over the whole period.

There are countless ways to view this problem. Here's a frinstance...