Newbie Bike Building

Comments

• PaulC7
    PaulC7 Posts: 112
    Thanks for the explanation its cleared things up there.

cooldad wrote:
    if an expert on cutting edge sports car technology couldn't work that out for himself, you probably should have used simpler words.

I never said i was an expert i simply said my job involves driving those type of cars so know the difference between good and bad handling.
  • Pudseyp
    Pudseyp Posts: 3,514
    PaulC7 wrote:
    cooldad wrote:
    Edgy or confused?

Confused is what i will be when it comes to choosing parts as you already found out i know nothing.

Which is exactly why yo should buy something second hand...otherwise you could end up with something like this !

scan--101.jpg
    Tomac Synper 140 Giant XTC Alliance 1
    If the world was flat, I wouldn't be riding !
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    Careful what you wish for, it may be what he wants!

Better shifters offer a more precise shift at lighter lever loads, better rear mechs have less play so offer more precision and are lighter, better wheels are lighter for quicker acceleration and better control by any suspension, they also have better controlled flex for comfort without loss of precision.

A Ferrari would handle better than an Astra as its supension, vehicle body stiffness and unsprung masses are all better, ignoring the effect of any add on computer control afterwards.

Simon
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Why don't you transfer the parts from the Dunlop onto your new frame and then replace them a bit at a time as you purchase them.