Any photography bods?

iPete
iPete Posts: 6,076
edited September 2011 in Commuting chat
I've been shooting for a few years now and have a tasty lens line up. Problem is, I don't use it enough to justify the value of it all, its fantastic when I use it but that might be every other month.

Has anyone got any first hand experience with using a compact DSLR, something like the new Olympus E-P3?

I'm used to throwing around a 40D + 17-55 f/2.8 IS + 430EX flash and can't help but think I'd regret selling it every time I try to AF?!

Comments

• Paul E
    Paul E Posts: 2,052
    Not used any of the compact a bit higher than bridge spec cameras, I know what you mean with weight though, I am used to throwing a 5d with a battery grip and most of the time a canon 70-200 2.8 IS L attached and sometimes a 120-300 2.8 sigma

I did used to do it a bit for a living along with video film work
  • They're not mutually exclusive. Get the Oly (or something similar) for snapping. Keep your proper glass for photography.

Paging Snooks...
    Swim. Bike. Run. Yeah. That's what I used to do.

Bike 1
    Bike 2-A
  • Recently got an Olympus ZX-1 as a camera we can carry around a bit easier than the Sony Alpha with all the lenses. It has a F1.8 Zuiko lens with an effective range of 28-112 mm.

Must admit that I've not used the Sony since. The lens is phenomenal, so sharp and wonderful colours. Yes, the autofocus is slow and sometime inaccurate compared to the Sony, but the quality of some of the shots is remarkable.
  • snooks
    snooks Posts: 1,521
    Like bikes, you can never have enough camera :twisted:

I have film cameras for being arty, and sitting in the loft doing nothing, I have a 1dsmkiii and a 5D for work and I have a Leica compact for personal work and happy snaps.

All of them serve different purposes and have different uses.

What do you normally shoot?

If you sell the body you have you won't get as much as you paid for it, and you'll regret it.