Ideal bar width for 140mm all-mountain bike?

Comments

• hoodlum-z
    hoodlum-z Posts: 65
    getonyourbike - trust me, I'm a joiner by trade. Obviously a handsaw would be rough on carbon, but a wood blade in a chop saw, or mitre saw as some people call them, is spinning that fast it leaves a nice clean cut. With aluminium being relatively soft compared to steel you can still cut it no problem, especially if it's just a one off. It would definitely be a tidier job than doing it with a hacksaw.

By the way, your bike looks nice. I have left a comment on your page. The bars look cool in blue. I once got loads of bits annodised blue about 18 years ago on my old Cannondale hardtail, even did the cages on my XT pedals and cranks. Then there was the Ringle aluminium bottle holders and skewers, but they were bought in blue... they were the days, haha!
    You mean what we thought they thought we think and thought they thought. We think? - Patrick
  • hoodlum-z
    nick if I've sent you a message by mistake, sorry. I was meant to post it here, but it isn't showing.

An electric chop saw will cut carbon or aluminium cleanly without fuss. Even though they have a wood blade, they are quite versatile and can cut soft metals. You only need a steel blade for, er, steel!
    You mean what we thought they thought we think and thought they thought. We think? - Patrick
  • hoodlum-z
    Supersonic, yes, it makes sense that if people are short and have narrow shoulders then they will need a narrower bar and trees and the trail type all come into it.

I'm not dissing people's choice. It makes no difference to me if people prefer 600, 700 or 800. All I was interested in is finding out what is most popular.