Boardman BB30 problems

adster
adster Posts: 3
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi All

I'm relatively new to road biking having caught the cycling bug last year. My employer uses the Halford C2W scheme and, after checking reviews, I purchased a Boardman Road Team.
In the 3 months that I've owned it, I have had to have the BB30 bracket replaced twice. Just taken it out tonight and it seems like the bl**dy thing has gone again!!!! So back to Halfords tomorrow (again)

Has anybody else suffered with this problem or am I just really unlucky?

Steve

Comments

• gaddster
    gaddster Posts: 401
    I take it the bearings are failing then?
    ARTHUR
    "Hello oh great one"
    LARRY
    "Are you talking to me or my ass?"
  • Fenred
    Fenred Posts: 428
    Take a look at the MTB forum, some of the guys with 2011 models sporting the BB30 have had similar issues.
  • Flamez
    Flamez Posts: 105
    In my first month i have had the bearing regreased and today replaced with new, i hope its ok now.....

Fingers crossed.
    Condor World Series 2012
    Boardman Team 2011
  • gaddster
    Loctite 641 when refitting. Stops them potentially moving and it's not a permanent bond, tis specifically for use where bearings are to be removed/refitted...
    ARTHUR
    "Hello oh great one"
    LARRY
  • adster
    adster Posts: 3
    After much wrangling, managed to get the bike replaced. Bit worrying when the comment in th store was "we've got a few in the workshop with the same problem". Fingers crossed that I won't have to revisit them anytime soon.
  • Jason82
    Jason82 Posts: 142
    I had it on my cyclocross after owning it less than a week got the whole bike changed and I got the same party line yeah we have had a few of them go recently.
    Missing a Boardman cx team
    FCN = 9
  • mouth
    mouth Posts: 1,195
    Almost sounds like a quality control issue to me, for them to be going bad en masse.
    The only disability in life is a poor attitude.
  • Jason82 wrote: