Going faster - how?

iamisotope
iamisotope Posts: 20
I am relatively new to road cycling.

I have a pretty good aerobic fitness from both swimming and cycling, and as a result, I find that I never really get to my limit, breath wise, when cycling.

However, I do find that I am much slower than I expected I would be when cycling.

What should I be looking at in terms of a training regime?

Would it be weights, or just lots more of on-bike training?

I don't intend to do rides of more than 40k.

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    iamisotope wrote:

I have a pretty good aerobic fitness from both swimming and cycling, and as a result, I find that I never really get to my limit, breath wise, when cycling.

However, I do find that I am much slower than I expected I would be when cycling.

Push harder then.
  • Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    +1. Skip the weights and pedal harder. If you're not breathing hard then you aren't trying hard enough.
  • JamieRa
    JamieRa Posts: 82
    Pokerface wrote:
    If you're not breathing hard then you aren't trying hard enough.

+1
  • StillGoing
    StillGoing Posts: 5,211
    As everyone else has said; if you're not struggling for breath then you obviously have a lot more effort to give. If you can go at an average 25mph plus without getting out of breath then maybe you should be considering a career in racing? Unfortunately for me I'm blowing out my arse trying to maintain an average 17mph.
    I ride a bike. Doesn't make me green or a tree hugger. I drive a car too.
  • Zoomer37
    Zoomer37 Posts: 725
    Try the big ring
  • freehub
    freehub Posts: 4,257
    Pokerface wrote:
    +1. Skip the weights and pedal harder. If you're not breathing hard then you aren't trying hard enough.

I dunno about that, when I'm thrashing myself on the flat I still breath slow.
  • Matt the Tester
    Matt the Tester Posts: 1,261
    freehub wrote:
    Pokerface wrote: