4th cat and nearly 40...is there hope!

ilikemybike
ilikemybike Posts: 19
edited August 2011 in Amateur race
Hi, Newbie here...
I have been riding for 10+ years, few races, mostly TT's and a spell of Ironman...This year I decided that it was now or never and I would focus on bunch racing for a few years, solely and exclusively. My goal is to get from 4th to 3rd cat and then next year be competitive as a 2nd cat, however mid season I am struggling a bit. I have 1 point!

My problem is this...not many local 4th cat only races the 3/4 cat races seem to have ex 1st and 2nd cat riders in and I am at the back or off the back and 2/3/4 races, forget it I get spat out straight away! I can ride a 10 in long 22's and on the hour for a 25. If I enter and travel a distance I am afraid t will be in vain but I suppose I need to race more(?) answering my own question and is 8 hrs per week enough...

Am I too old for this lark :cry: or is there hope, I really enjoy the adrenaline of racing so hope not. Be interested to hear from any "late bloomers in road racing" and how you approached training, I do about 7-8 hrs per week with 2 hard sessions (or races) included.

Comments

• sheffsimon
    sheffsimon Posts: 1,282
    Hi, Newbie here...
    I have been riding for 10+ years, few races, mostly TT's and a spell of Ironman...This year I decided that it was now or never and I would focus on bunch racing for a few years, solely and exclusively. My goal is to get from 4th to 3rd cat and then next year be competitive as a 2nd cat, however mid season I am struggling a bit. I have 1 point!