Giving up caffeine

Herbsman
Herbsman Posts: 2,029
I've given up caffeine before but not since I started training and racing. Has anyone else given it up and can you tell me how it's affected your riding, rest and recovery?
CAPTAIN BUCKFAST'S CYCLING TIPS - GUARANTEED TO WORK! 1 OUT OF 10 RACING CYCLISTS AGREE!

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Didn't affect anything, apart from my sleep, which improved
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    I gave it up once. Only thing I noticed was I was a bit sleepy mid-afternoon for a week or two without my coffee to perk me up.
    More problems but still living....
  • tobermory
    tobermory Posts: 138
    I get terrible headaches when i have given up so i now have some coffee to stop those mind numbing headaches
    Never trust anyone who says trust me
  • rdt
    rdt Posts: 869
    I 've ended up pretty much caffeine-free. Started by drinking mainly redbush (which has no caffeine) instead of regular tea. Then replaced the few remaining cups of the regular tea with decaf tea. Rarely drink coffee, but use decaf filter when I do.

The advantage of avoiding caffeine most of the time is that if I'm really sh@gged out, a cup of real tea really perks me up. :lol:

If you cold-turkey I'm sure you'll get a bunch of headaches for a few days or week, but it'll pass, and afterwards you shouldn't feel much different to before. Maybe you'll sleep better at night and maybe not need to whazz so much.
  • freehub
    freehub Posts: 4,257
    I've cut down on it, I only ever have decaf bat at student accommodation in Mcr and only have caffeine when I have large mocha at Costa at Uni, at home I have caffeine cause my mum does proper coffe, and can honestly say the effects of it are minimal, it does not appear to effect my sleep much also.

One thing I do notice is, in a 9am lecture I was twitching quite abit if I had a large mocha.
  • toontra
    toontra Posts: 1,160
    rdt wrote: