OT: iPads

cjcp
cjcp Posts: 13,345
edited November 2010 in Commuting chat
I'm not very good with these things.

Mrs CJ has pointed out how good they are. This means that it's number 1 on the list she's just posted to Father Christmas.

Are they any good? Is there some iPad v.2.0 coming out soon which I should wait for?

This may all be irrelevant because I want brownie points for an Alps grip and another crack at the Marmotte next year.
FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
"It stays down, Daddy."
"Exactly."

Comments

• Oddjob62
    Oddjob62 Posts: 1,056
    cjcp wrote:
    This may all be irrelevant because I want brownie points for an Alps grip and another crack at the Marmotte next year.

That's the main thing isn't it? Who cares if it's an overpriced, form over function, fashion victim's accessory? If it makes her happy and gets you points then that's all the matters.
    As yet unnamed (Dolan Seta)
    Joelle (Focus Expert SRAM)
  • There will always be v n+1 of an Apple product waiting in the wings. And v n will not be reduced by a single quid before it is phased out.

I was completely sceptical about us getting one. Mrs G66 had her iPhone, and we had a laptop in the kitchen. What, I wondered, would we use an iPad for?

Well, the answer is pretty much everything that doesn't involve sitting down at a keyboard for a long period of time. Which at home, is pretty much everything. The laptop went into a cupboard within 24 hours and hasn't been seen since.

It won't do flash, which means video clips on say the BBC website don't work, but that's pretty small beer, IMO.

the questions are (a) how much storage; (b) 3G or not.

As to (a) get as much as you can afford. I put films and TV series on mine, as well as my itunes library, and a bunch of photos. I haven't filled it, but I would have filled the next size down.