help ive got to lose 44kg

bexley5200
bexley5200 Posts: 692
hi im a 49 year old male and yes thats 7 st of fat by the spring i have been on a low fat diet for 6 weeks and i have lost 2st i have been cycling for 15 years but havent cycled on the road for about a year i have been walking every day about an hour i hope to be lighter by spring and get out cycling again
going downhill slowly

Comments

• schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    Having dropped from 105kg to 80kg mainly through cycling, I think you'll struggle to lose that much so quickly.

Even if you lost 44kg in 12 months you would be doing well.

Why do you need to lose so much so quickly? You're much more likely to keep it off too if you lose the weight over a slower a period of time.
  • i think a stone a month is acheveable for me 6 months till spring 7 months in total i see it as a goal
    going downhill slowly
  • schweiz
    schweiz Posts: 1,644
    edited November 2010
    I admire you for trying to lose weight and here's some basic maths of what you need to achieve:

1lb fat = approx 3500 kCal

so to lose 2lb (900g) of fat a week you need a calorie debt of over 1000 kCal/day, so for a 'normal' man that is a diet of less than 1500 kCal/day. Any exercise you do will of course affect your daily requirements.

So to lose a stone in a month you need to be doubling that i.e. a calorie debt of 2000 kCal /day. That would mean effectively living on a 1500 kCal a day diet and doing 1 to 1.5 hours of intense exercise every day. I'm not sure how healthy that is long term and how it would affect you in terms of feeling tired.

From my experiences, a large part of initial weight loss will be water rather than fat so whilst you've lost a lot so far, it is difficult to keep it going. At work we had a 'Lardathon' basically it meant getting weighed every Thursday morning and the results were on a spreadsheet for all to see.