considerably faster than yow

dcurzon
dcurzon Posts: 290
edited August 2010 in Commuting chat
i've noticed that some folk get some serious speed going on on they're commute... as a newb, my speed is pretty low - around 12mph average in the epping area (some hills) and 10mph avg in london (borisbike). I'm assuming its just a case of time in the saddle will increase my speeds, but seriously, how long in the saddle??

I read on here of people commuting at 20+ avg on a daily basis, to me at the moment, that just seems incredible! I doff my cap to you fast boys n girls, and aspire (but not perspire) to get to your standards!
B'Twin Sport 1
FCN 7 =4, +2(non cycling clothes) +1(beard)

Comments

• I bet no-one averages 20+ on a Boris Bike, though ;) A lot of the extra speed does come from a well maintained, fast bike.
  • I tend to carry along at a steady 17/18mph, traffic lights notwithstanding. This is on a 3 speed Cannondale Bad Boy (no drop bars or anything, I guess you'd call it a fast hybrid). I could probably go faster, but I don't have any gears inbetween 'riding on the flat' and 'riding downhill' so I'm kind of speed limited unless I feel like burning my legs off on the fastest gear.
    FCN - 10
    Cannondale Bad Boy Solo with baggies.
  • SimonAH
    SimonAH Posts: 3,730
    You're going to speed up fast, don't sweat it (or rather do.........)
    FCN 5 belt driven fixie for city bits
    CAADX 105 beastie for bumpy bits
    Litespeed L3 for Strava bits

Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast.
  • biondino
    biondino Posts: 5,990
    No-one averages 20mph in London, except perhaps the very fastest at 4am. It's very easy to cruise for a short time at 20mph, so perhaps that's what you're seeingm people refer to?